East Fife v Arbroath: Head to Head Analysis
|Competition:||Scottish League||Scottish Cup||League Cup|
|East Fife Wins||41||0||7|
Totals (for League, Scottish Cup and League Cup):
|East Fife Wins||48|
Total Number of Goals Scored (in all three competitions):
Although Arbroath are a much older club than East Fife, formed in 1878, they did not become Scottish League members until season 1920/21, the same season East Fife were admitted. Before becoming members of the newly formed Second Division, however, the two sides had met regularly in the Northern League and Central League as well as in the Consolation Cup. A four game marathon was fought out between East Fife and Arbroath in the semi-final of the Consolation Cup in season 1908/09. A crowd of 2,000 paid to see the first semi-final at old Gayfield on 20 March 1909 which finished 1-1. The following Saturday a crowd of 2,500 witnessed the first replay at Bayview, which finished 2-2. North End Park, Cowdenbeath, was the venue for the second replay on 3 April which finished 2-2 after extra time in front of a 3,000 crowd. Four days later, on 7 April 1909, the third replay was staged at Recreation Park, Perth (then home of St Johnstone), and this time the 'Red Lichties' emerged victors by two goals to one.
In 1925, Arbroath completely re-built their ground, Gayfield, and officially opened 'Greater Gayfield' with a Second Division match against East Fife on 29 August. A crowd of 7,000 saw the Earl of Strathmore start the match, but the Fifers spoiled the party by winning 4-2 with goals from Wright (2), Weir and Bell.
Below: Players and officials at the opening of Greater Gayfield on 29 August 1925
Return to 'Performance Analysis'